District Courts are created by the Constitution. They are the record and trial courts of Kansas, with general original jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, including divorce and domestic relations, damage suits, probate and administration of estates, guardianships, conservatorships, care of the mentally ill, juvenile matters, and small claims. It is here that the criminal and civil jury trials are held. District courts also have appellate jurisdiction over municipal courts. Appeals may be taken from the district courts to the Court of Appeals, or to the Supreme Court.

Meade County is part of the 16th Judicial District of Kansas Keith Whitney was elected to a four-year term as District Magistrate Judge in November 2004. He is currently serving his third term. The District Judge is elected in November of the Presidential Election years for a term of four years. There are no term limits for this position. Party Affiliation: Republican


  • Keith Whitney - District Magistrate Judge
  • Decinda Heinz - Clerk of the District Court

Kansas Judicial Branch

Access the Kansas Courts website:

  • Jury Duty Information
  • Marriage License Information
  • Small Claims Information
  • Local Court Rules
  • Downloadable Forms and more