Board of County Commissioners


  • 1st and 15th of each month
  • Email Janet Hale or call 620-873-8700 to be placed on the agenda.
  • Meade County Courthouse.
    200 N Fowler Street
    Meade, KS 67864

Agendas & Minutes

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes.


  • Janna Frydendall, Meade Commissioner
    P.O. Box 1092
    Meade, KS 67864
    Phone: 620-482-6099
  • Clair Bender, Plains Commissioner 
    P.O. Box 128
    Plains, KS 67869
    Phone: 620-563-9550
  • Randy Leis, Fowler Commissioner
    P.O. Box 222
    Fowler, KS 67844
    Phone: 620-635-6034

Board Overview

The Board of County Commissioners is a three-person elected board that has overall responsibility for county government functions such as budgets, setting policy, and performing executive functions.  Commissioners serve four-year terms, with two of the three Commissioners being elected in the same year, and the third Commissioner elected two years later.  Commissioner terms begin the second Monday in January after the election.

The areas from which Commissioners are elected are determined by townships.  Mertilla, West Plains, and Cimarron elect the Plains Commissioner. Crooked Creed, Meade Center and Odee elect the Meade Commissioner.  Fowler, Logan, and Sand Creek elect the Fowler Commissioner.